Arrival in Seoul 6.22.16

Arrival in Seoul 6.22.16

Gyeongbokgung Palace (경복궁)

Gyeongbokgung Palace (경복궁)

Because I arrived earlier than the other delegates there were not any members of NAHF available to greet me.  Professor Joe Stoltman sent me these instructions:

“Getting from the Airport to the Koreana Hotel is easy.
Follow all the instructions on Memo 9 until you enter the Arrivals Hall. You will not be met, but just follow the Ground Transportation (bus) to the Korean Airlines Bus Stop. This is where you get the bus to Downtown. There is an information desk and any of the hotel desk attendants at the airport will usually help direct you to the KAL bus stop in English.

Nearby to the bus stop is a ticket booth. It will cost you about 20,000 won for a ticket to the Koreana Hotel. You will be reimbursed, so keep tour receipt. This approximately $20 U.S.
The ticket agent will tell you which sign you should stand by to wait for the bus. I think it is sign 11 and they are along the curb. It is printed in English on the sign which hotels the buses  serve. You want the Koreana Hotel .  You can rely on the baggage handler at the curbside to tag your bag, give you receipt, and load your luggage in the compartment of the bus.  The driver will take your ticket usually after you are aboard. Then fasten your seat belt, and the bus will stop in front of the Korean about 55 minutes later. The Koreana stop announcement will be made in English. “

Receipt of Exchange

When I debarked from the plane it was a hazy morning in Seoul.  I following the arrivals signs down two immigration.  There were signs explaining passengers with fevers would be quarantined if they had recently visited places with a history of Ebola or MERS.  As you passed the signs you walked through a turn style in front of a video camera that detected your body temperature.  After that I rode a tram to immigration.  Immigration was very efficient, provided cultural information such as no tipping being required in South Korea and how to get around using cabs, as well as quickly allowing me through to the Arrival Hall.  After a tram ride to the baggage claim I went through customs and changed my money.  No hassle there and I changed in 97.00USD for 107,912 Won.

Once I changed my money I found the Arrival Hall and paused a moment to get my bearings.  It was 10:30AM Seoul time so no need to rush considering check in is afternoon at most hotels that i’ve stayed in.  I found a coffee shop and purchased a bottle of water for 1,500won.  I located an information desk that sent me to a keiosk for tickets on bussess around the country.  I closely reexamined my instructions and made my way out to the curb.  I located a machine to purchase tickets but failed to operate it correctly.  20160621_222935A worker for the bus company offered to sell me a ticket to where I needed to go for 16,000 won.  Still ignorant of the relative price of things I balked initially but another nearby western traveler offered help and confirmed it was the right line and a legitimate ticket.  My traveler’s paranoia began to abate.

20160621_223058Even though I was starting to feel comfortable in South Korea, a very clean and welcoming country, I found myself fighting to stay awake.  The bus driver checked to see if all passengers were wearing seat belts, a cultural norm I’ve begun to encounter repeatedly, which I thought was very courteous.  As the bus departed I decided to try to video record the ride in.

The highway experience is a familiar human landscape in well developed countries.  One of the first physical features I noticed were tidal flats which emerged near the road as we drove from Incheon to Seoul.  As I recorded there are moments where I drop my phone because I was falling asleep.

Upon arrival I checked in and went straight to sleep for five hours.  Three members of NAHF and Professor Stoltman took the delegates out to dinner and we had same great Bibimbap, Kimchee, Amazing Dumplings, and other tasty dishes!  After dinner I walked with my new friend Carlos and we found JC Texas Western Ice Bar.  Since he was from Texas we simply had to investigate what the Korean-Tex food and atmosphere would be like.   After an intriguing stop there we walked more around Seoul.  SEE THE PHOTOS HERE!   I returned to my hotel room to prepare for the next day’s journey to the DMZ which I will detail in my next blog post.  Until next time!

Keep Calm
and

Think Spatially